17 October, 2018 Community

Tess Coady awarded a Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship

It is with great excitement that we share the news that Year 12 student, and the youngest competitor on Australia’s Winter Olympics team at the PyeongChang 2018 Olympic Winter Games, Tess Coady, was awarded a Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship on Thursday at a Gala evening at the Crown Palladium.

Tess Coady awarded a Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship Tess Coady with mentor Nick Green OAM

The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship and Mentoring Program links emerging athletes with Hall of Fame athletes to provide invaluable advice and mentorship to help young Australians reach the highest levels of their sport. Since the Program was introduced in 2006, 76 young Australian athletes across 34 sports have benefited from the opportunity of a lifetime to draw on the experience and wisdom of The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Members.

A Junior World Champion in both the Snowboard Big Air and Slopestyle events in 2017, and the youngest member of the 2018 Australian Winter Olympic team, Tess suffered a setback in practice in PyeongChang, rupturing her ACL before being able to compete. One of only five recipients, Tess’ Scholarship is testament to her determination and resilience, and potential as an athlete.

Tess Coady awarded a Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship The five athletes chosen for 2019 include diver Cassiel Rousseau, snowboarder Tess Coady, Paralympic distance runner Jaryd Clifford, rower Giorgia Patten, and motor racing prodigy Cameron Shields.

Talking about the Scholarship, Tess said, “I feel extremely privileged. I am really looking forward to meeting and getting to know my mentor Nick Green, and I feel he will be able to offer me some extremely valuable advice.”

Tess’ mentor is Nick Green OAM, Olympic Gold Medalist and member of Australia’s legendary ‘Oarsome Foursome’ rowing team.

“It is a great privilege to be able to pass on some of my knowledge to Tess,” said Nick. “Having teenage daughters of my own, I know that I will be able to listen to Tess and support and guide her growth as an athlete.”

Olympic Winter Institute of Australia (OWIA) Chairman, Geoff Henke AO, said, “I can’t think of anyone more worthy of this recognition by the Sport Australia Hall of Fame. This scholarship is bound to give Tess further encouragement to succeed in the future.”

As our Year 12 students prepare to exit the School gates for the last time as students at St Michael’s, we congratulate Tess on her Scholarship, and know this will provide fantastic guidance and focus for her into 2019 and beyond.

You can find more information about the Scholarships and all recipients here.